49 Hours in Mumbai

Day1:
So finally I went to Mumbai. After staying in Pune for 8 months and planning numerous times, I went there. Ohh! Wait wait! Before I burst the bubble of my excitement, let me introduce you to some characters of the story.

Sukanya aka Suku: One of my very close friends. She is a kid.
SnehaDi aka Momma: Roommate of Suku. She ensures if she is around, you will not miss your mother.
Snigdha aka Sniggy: The pretty roommate of Suku. She is a simple, pretty and timid girl.
Namratha: Suku’s colleague. A lovely lady.

So where were we? Yes, my Mumbai Trip. It was so happening that I thought of sharing it.

I reached there almost 11.45am. The entire way I slept in the bus as I could not sleep the previous night. Suku came to receive me at the bus stop. Then I became a sheer target of “Atithi Devo Bhava”. Anyway after getting freshened up I had delicious lunch (Veg Fried Rice, Egg Curry and Chilly Paneer) made by Sneha Di especially for me! People who eat outside everyday will understand the happiness of getting homemade food.

From extreme right:Suku, Me, Snehadi (in the front) and Sniggy(at the back).

From extreme right:Suku, Me, Snehadi (in the front) and Sniggy(at the back).

As we had plans to visit Lalbaug where one of the most illustrious Ganesh Puja of the town takes place, we got ready.

When we reached there, it was hell crowded. We met Namratha there. In the middle of the assemblage I was missing Durgapuja. Being Bengali it was hard for me not to attend Puja last year.

Somehow we managed to stand on the roadside beside a wall. Suddenly we saw a bright green Ferrari and people started to shout “Arbaz Khan!” What I saw was 3 girls (Suku, Sniggy and SnehaDi), literally jumped on the wall to see him. Dude, I guess Arbaz Khan himself doesn’t know he can have such big fans :P. Anyway our Arbaz Khan turned out to be the lead actor of “MSG” and “MSG2”. No, “Facepalm” is not enough to react to that situation. Suku was brave enough to click the pics of his companions. I am not. So fans, sorry, no photos.

Anyway within half an hour we were in the temple. When we saw the Lalbaugcha Raja, the idol of Ganapati, we were so enthralled that the crowd, the noises and the sweat did not matter anymore. It was mesmerizing.

Lalbaugcha Raja Place:Lalbaug Pic Courtesy: Me Editing Courtesy: Me again! :D

Lalbaugcha Raja
Place:Lalbaug
Pic Courtesy: Me

Selfie with Ganapati and annoyed Lady Police? Hell, yeah!

Selfie with Ganapati and annoyed Lady Police? Hell, yeah!

After fighting with the crowd to come out of the place, Namratha took us to this awesome place called Smaaash. In short Smaaash=Gaming+Food+Bars but we had tiny little problem which was that Namratha literally dragged us to Smaaash right from Lalbaugh and we did not get a chance to change clothes. So we were standing in the middle of hot chicks and cool guys wearing all traditional clothes. Nah, we did not play anything and obviously did not click pics.

After having dinner which was a treat from Namratha, we headed towards Marine Drive. Although it was crowded, it was still peaceful.

Queen’s Necklace: On the seashore the entire city looks like a Necklace.

Queen’s Necklace: On the seashore the entire city looks like a Necklace.

Place: Marine Drive Pic Courtesy: Namratha Nammo

Place: Marine Drive
Pic Courtesy: Namratha Nammo

On the way towards home we saw the Haji Ali Dargah from a distance. We had Dry fruits cream and the famous Sitafal (Custard Apple) Cream at Haji Ali Juice Centre.

Place: Haji Ali Dargah I could not click a better pic than this at night with my phone from such a distance.


Place: Haji Ali Dargah
I could not click a better pic than this at night with my phone from such a distance.

Then we had the best time. To be honest I am not a fan of any filmstars (except Amir Khan, he is crazy talented) or cricketers but that day I went crazy. Whenever I saw their houses, I was a fan girl of E-V-E-R-Y-O-N-E including Tusshar Kapoor ( Damn! I lost half of my readers)! I even clicked a pic of Lilavati Hospital. Anyway we saw houses of Amitabh Bachchan (Both Jalsa and Pratiksha), Lata Mangeshkar, Sunil Gavaskar, Shah Rukh khan, Salman Khan, Rekha (Basera) and Mukesh Ambani (Antilia).

Actually I clicked this pic only for all Shah Rukh Khan fans around me just to make them jealous 😛 ! My elder sister literally jumped out of bed after seeing this. #MissionAccomplised #Cheers

Again, it was dark. That was my phone. This was Shah Rukh Khan’s place.

Again, it was dark. That was my phone. This was Shah Rukh Khan’s place.

At the middle of night in front of Worli Sea link we started photo shooting.

Day2:
Next day Suku and me thought of going for shopping and the taxi driver dropped us in a Sabzi Mandi (Suku did not know the place well and we did not have balance for mobile data). So basically I was in my hot pants in the middle of a sabzi mandi! And we started to walk straight for a long time without asking anyone (only God knows why!) and whoa! It’s the Gateway of India.

Pic Courtesy: Me Editing Courtesy: Me

Pic Courtesy: Me
Editing Courtesy: Me

And Hotel Taj.

Pic Courtesy: Me Editing Courtesy: Me

Pic Courtesy: Me
Editing Courtesy: Me

And Pervs!

49Hours

Then we went to nearby Colaba Market.

9

I am from Bengal and things are pretty cheap there when it comes to street shopping. Still I have to say that Colaba Market is one of the cheapest places I have ever been to. I got a denim jacket at Rs.300/-. Apart from clothes, I bought a tiara, earrings, bracelet and anklets.

I was so allured by the beauty of Marine drive that when Suku suggested to visit it again near about 9pm, I did not have a second thought. If I did not have to return the next day, I could spend the entire night there.

10.2

Suku, Me and Pizza

So we got pizza to be delivered on roadside. How?
Suku on call with Dominos:Hi Dominos. Do you deliver Pizza on roadside?
Dominos Guy: We are very sorry to inform you that we don’t.
Suku:…………………..
After a minute or two.
Dominos Guy: Ma’am we are making an exception for you. What do you want to order?
Suku and Me: Yay!

And that’s me at Queen’s Necklace

That’s me at Queen’s Necklace. Pic Courtesy: Suku

Day3:

Next morning I started my journey towards Pune at 12.30pm after saying goodbye to everyone and to the city of dreams with the thought of visit it again.

P.S.: I don’t claim myself to be a photographer. All the photos are captured on Mobile phone. Please excuse for that.

7 thoughts on “49 Hours in Mumbai

  1. At the end of the story i found that u happy and to see yourself happy i feel happy… stay blessed always…..

    Like

  2. every bit of inch well decoratively described 🙂
    nice job dear 🙂
    p.s – lets move to Nikon thn 😛 it was nice though even in your cell

    and if unwilling i will help u latter on #lend you some good pics 😛

    Like

  3. Pingback: One Day Well Spent- 1st January, 2016 | HiJiBiJi

Leave a comment