Topsy-Turvy: A New Angle (Part2)

In case you have missed the Part 1, here is the link:

https://jasodharabatabyal.wordpress.com/2016/07/28/topsy-turvy-when-do-not-contact-calls-part1/

____________________________________________________________________________________

“So what did make you call me, Tanoj?”

“Can’t I even call you now, Rushana? Do you remember we were friends once?”

“Yes. 4 years ago. 4 years can do a lot to 2 people.”

Okay. You know how Rushana ignored Tanoj for 2 years. What happened in another 2 years? I’ll get back to it soon.

“You are still so pretty, Rushana. It did not change at all.”

“So you called me to tell me that I am still pretty?”

“Can we at least talk like friends?”

“Tanoj, I can not take a step back. I can’t do it.”

“What did take you so long? Why did not you tell me earlier?”

“I was angry. I was confused. I did not want you to wait for me when I was not sure.”

“Then why are you telling all these now?”

“It takes time to understand.”

“Yes. You understand when you lose the person completely.”

“Tanoj, I am already regretting things. Please don’t hurt me more. Past 2 years you kept apologizing and I did not listen to you. Now that I know I have feelings for you and you have moved on. I get it. I don’t know what to do with myself. I miss you a lot. I tried not to think about you but it’s not happening. Last night I dreamt about you. Do you realize how much I lo…”

“There is someone else, Rushana.”

The feeling got in to Rushana was beyond description. Everything seemed to be shutting down. She could feel the darkness around her.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

For one last time Advik rehearsed in front of the mirror.

He thought in his mind, “This is spot on.”

He went out of the washroom and went straight to meet Rushana.

She was in a white kurti and blue jeans. How simple things can make her look beautiful.

“Advik! I was dying to meet you, man!”

“Same here! You look thinner. What happened to you?”

“I have so many things to tell you. I am in a mess.”

Advik touched his pocket. Yes, it is still there.

“I too have so many things to tell you. Let’s start with you.”

“I am in love with Tanoj.”

Advik skipped a beat.

He kept telling in his mind, “Keep your straight face on, Advik. She doesn’t need to hear this now.”

Verbally he only could mumble, “What is the mess about?”

Rushana tried to control but tears roll down on her cheeks, “He is in love with someone else. I don’t know how to deal with it, Advik. I have lost him. I have lost myself.”

One more time Advik touched his pocket and thought, “Not today.”

“Why love is so difficult? Why did I fall for someone who doesn’t love me?”

Advik asked the same question silently.

“You know what Rush, Tanoj is very lucky that a girl like you loves him.”

“What am I going to do now?”

“You’ll be fine. It will take some time. But you’ll be fine.”

What Rushana did not understand was that Advik was telling himself all these.

“Give me a minute. It’s awkward to cry like this here. I’ll be back soon.”

“Thank God!”, he thought.

While Rushana went to the washroom, Advik took out the watch from his pocket. He touched the words engraved on it.

“I want to be a part of your time for this life. Will you let me be that?”

e70d2f641038d66e7bb6d2c4f6c6f858

 

 

 

 

Image courtesy: Google Image

Leave a comment